Gan was created in 1335 by Gaston II, Viscount of Foix-Béarn, who chose the name in remembrance of the Flemish city of Ghent, which he discovered during a military expedition. The objective of the foundation was to develop the lands of the valleys of Néez and Las Hies. In 1385, Gan counted 175 inhabited houses (approximately 900 inhabitants) and the city extended to the south.
Gan has conserved the layout of the bastide: the plan follows axes that are perpendicular to a large square. The city was encircled by palisades and two parallel channels that were filled in 1960. The North Gate, the only one still standing, dates to the 14th century.
Fire destroyed the town in the 16th century. Three picturesque houses date to the reconstruction.
Gan has conserved the layout of the bastide: the plan follows axes that are perpendicular to a large square. The city was encircled by palisades and two parallel channels that were filled in 1960. The North Gate, the only one still standing, dates to the 14th century.
Fire destroyed the town in the 16th century. Three picturesque houses date to the reconstruction.